The Rival Ring (2010)

(has timed music)



A jealous ring and its jewelry gang attack and destroy their creator’s new project: a clay puppet!

Pixilation and stop motion film made with my friend Ming over a couple of days for a class project at RISD. The assignment: make a monster movie!  Featuring an all classical score: Haydn, Janacek, Satie and more.  (Just a silly student film. No copyright claimed on the music used.)

Created at the Rhode Island School of Design. Monster Class Wintersession 2010.

Most Rings Designed and Made By Ming Tseng
Creature Build and Design: Clio Calman and Ming Tseng
Ring Animation: Clio Calman and Ming Tseng
Creature Animation: Clio Calman
Editing: Clio Calman
Music Editing: Clio Calman

Music Credits : All Recordings Belong to their Respective Copy Right Holders.

“Ballet of the Unhatched Chick” from Pictures At An Exhibition
Mussorgsky & Ravel: Pictures at an Exhibition & Bolero
Seraphim Classics: 73567
Composer: Modest Petrovich Mussorgsky
Conductor: Lorin Maazel
Ensemble: Philharmonia Orchestra
© 1999 Emi Classics (USA)

Concerto In D For Strings, RV 123 – 2. Adagio
Vivaldi: Concerti per archi
Naïve: OP 30377
Composer: Antonio Vivaldi
Conductor: Rinaldo Alessandrini
Ensemble: Concerto Italiano
© 2007 Naïve

Largo Cantabile from Symphony #93 In D, H 1/93
Haydn: The London Symphonies Vol. II
Philips Classics: 442 614-2
Composer: Joseph Haydn
Conductor: Sir Colin Davis
Ensemble: Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
©1994 Philips Classics Productions

“Choral hypocrite” from Choses vues à droite et à gauche (Sans lunettes)
The Music of Satie: Works for Piano, Orchestra, and Voice
VoxBox: CDX 5107
Composer: Erik Satie
Performer: Frank Glazer, Piano

Adagio from Cello Concerto In E Minor, Op. 85
Yo-Yo Ma: Elgar, Walton Cello Concertos
CBS Masterworks:MK 39541
Composer: Deward Elgar
Performer: Yo-Yo Ma, Cello
Conductor: Andre Previn
Ensemble: London Symphony Orchestra
© 1985 CBS Inc

“Andante” from Sinfonietta
Karel Ančerl: Gold Edition
Supraphon: Su 3684-2 011
Composer: Leoš Janáček
Conductor: Karel Ančerl
Ensemble: Czech Philharmonic Orchestra
© 2003 Supraphon a. s.

“Ah! Ich habe deinen Mund geküsst, Jochanaan” from Salome, Op. 54 Scene 4
Decca: ADD 00289 475 7528
Composer: Richard Strauss
Conductor: Sir Georg Solti
Ensemble: Vienna Philharmonic
© Decca Music Group Limited